Tackling Climate Change: Rhetoric or reality?

The EPA, as part of the National Dialogue on Climate Action and in conjunction with the Royal Irish Academy, will host a public lecture on adapting to climate change.

Lord John Krebs will present the next lecture in the climate change lecture series: Tackling Climate Change: Rhetoric or reality?

The lecture will be chaired by Dr John Bowman

Attendance is free, but advance booking is essential. Bookings can be made through Eventbrite

This lecture will also be broadcast live on the EPA website where further information and links to past lectures can be found.

Speaker: Lord John Krebs

Event Time: 18:30 - 20:30

Event Date: 15 May 2018

Location: The Round Room, The Mansion House, Dawson Street, Dublin 2.


Reducing greenhouse gas emissions, and adapting to the impacts of inevitable climate change, are arguably the biggest global challenges we face today. An international consensus on action was reached in Paris in 2015 with many countries introducing national laws to tackle climate change. The UK’s 2008 Climate Change Act was a pioneering commitment to set a legally binding target for reducing national emissions. In this 10th anniversary year of the Act, how is the UK doing? Is there a gap between action and the target? How will Brexit affect progress in the future?

Lord John Krebs is Emeritus Professor of Zoology in the University of Oxford.  His research area is behavioural ecology and he has published more than 300 research papers, reviews, articles and books. He served as Chairman of the House of Lords Science and Technology Select Committee from 2010 to 2014; and President of the British Science Association in 2012-13.  He currently sits on the Energy and Environment Select Committee. He was the founding Chair of the UK Climate Change Committee Adaptation Sub-Committee between 2009 and 2017 and is currently a member of that committee. He has received a number of awards and honours including 17 honorary degrees, Fellowship of the Royal Society, the US National Academy of Sciences, the American Philosophical Society, the US Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the German National Academy of Sciences (Leopoldina).